About us

Our staff

Mark Slocum — Executive Director
e: Mark@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1101

Family Advocacy Team

Melissa Beaman — Family Advocate, Hospital & Clinic Based Programs
e: Melissa@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1100
With fourteen years of experience in child life, Melissa is responsible for all hospital based programs, including Beads4Bravery, the Courage Store, Journey Book. She can often be found working with families at Blank Children's Hospital or the University of Iowa Stead Family's Hospitals and Clinics. A great resource to CCC families and our team, feel free to contact Melissa with any questions regarding her programs.

Development Team

Christina Hackbart - Volunteer Coordinator 

e: Christina@ChildrensCancerConnection.org

p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1114

A recent graduate of the University of Northern Iowa, Christina is bringing fresh ideas to the new Volunteer Coordinator position. She will be working to engage volunteers by organizing impactful opportunities for anyone looking to get involved with Children's Cancer Connection. Feel free to contact Christina with any volunteer questions or to get involved with activities happening throughout the year!

Sarah Hanson — Regional Fundraising Manager - Central Iowa
e: Sarah@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1105
Champion of the Fundraising by Friends efforts, Sarah works tirelessly with volunteers around the state to plan and host grass roots fundraising events. Sarah is also responsible for Camping the Night Away, CCC's annual fundraiser. A recent graduate of the University of Northern Iowa, Sarah is currently pursuing her Master's Degree.

Kim Olmstead — Director of Development
e: Kim@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext.1110
Responsible for the fundraising team, Kim's niche is creating relationships with sponsors including organizations, corporations, and individuals.

Sara Petersen - Regional Fundraising Manager - Eastern Iowa

e: Sara@ChildrensCancerConnection.org

p: 515-243-6239

As a member of the fundraising team, Sara works to continue to expand the Fund Raising by Friends efforts in the Eastern Iowa area. She plans and hosts fundraising events while working closely with sponsors, donors, and volunteers!

 

Business Team

Jolene Gehringer — Administrative Assistant
e: Jolene@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1109
Jolene keeps the Children's Cancer Connection organized and moving forward. Jolene supports the entire staff with administrative needs, plus manages volunteer communication and coordination. Jolene keeps the Hansen Home for Hope functioning and friendly. Feel free to contact Jolene with any volunteer or Hansen Home questions.

Meridith Swoyer— Business Manager
e: Meridith@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1107
Meridith has been a member of the Children's Cancer Connection team since 2008. As the business manager, Meridith is responsible for the day to day management of the organization, including the database and office management. For fun, Meridith manages the CCC trinkets and swag! Feel free to contact Meridith with any business questions.