About us

Our staff

Mark Slocum — Executive Director
e: Mark@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1101

Family Advocacy Team

Melissa Beaman — Family Advocate, Hospital & Clinic Based Programs
e: Melissa@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1100
With fourteen years of experience in child life, Melissa is responsible for all hospital based programs, including Beads4Bravery, the Courage Store, Journey Book. She can often be found working with families at Blank Children's Hospital or the University of Iowa Stead Family's Hospitals and Clinics. A great resource to CCC families and our team, feel free to contact Melissa with any questions regarding her programs.

Madi Short — Family Advocate, Residential Camps & Retreats
e: Madi@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1113
Once a sibling camper herself, Madi brings a wealth of camp and residential program knowledge to the CCC team. Previously, Retreats and Conferences Director of the Y Camp in Boone, Iowa, Madi's passion for organic support thourgh shared experiences is evident in everything she plans. If you have questions about camp or anything camp related, contact Madi.

Channon Timm — Regional Family Advocate - Central Iowa
e: Channon@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1102
Channon has been a CCC team member since 1998. Her unprecedented knowledge of the CCC family tree is invaluable. Channon's primary focus is creating monthly events to foster connection between families all while having fun! Channon is also responsible for lock-ins, drop-off events and summer day camp. Feel free to contact Channon regarding any Hansen Home for Hope Based Programs.

Development Team

Sarah Hanson — Regional Fundraising Manager - Central Iowa
e: Sarah@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1105
Champion of the Fundraising by Friends efforts, Sarah works tirelessly with volunteers around the state to plan and host grass roots fundraising events. Sarah is also responsible for Camping the Night Away, CCC's annual fundraiser. A recent graduate of the University of Northern Iowa, Sarah is currently pursuing her Master's Degree.

Kim Olmstead — Director of Development
e: Kim@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext.1110
Responsible for the fundraising team, Kim's niche is creating relationships with sponsors including organizations, corporations, and individuals.

Business Team

Maggie Davitt — Director of Office Operations
e: Maggie@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext.1114
As the right hand to Mark, the Executive Director, Maggie is an advocate for CCC families and growth of the organization.

Jolene Gehringer — Administrative Assistant
e: Jolene@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1109
Jolene keeps the Children's Cancer Connection organized and moving forward. Jolene supports the entire staff with administrative needs, plus manages volunteer communication and coordination. Jolene keeps the Hansen Home for Hope functioning and friendly. Feel free to contact Jolene with any volunteer or Hansen Home questions.

Meridith Swoyer— Business Manager
e: Meridith@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext. 1107
Meridith has been a member of the Children's Cancer Connection team since 2008. As the business manager, Meridith is responsible for the day to day management of the organization, including the database and office management. For fun, Meridith manages the CCC trinkets and swag! Feel free to contact Meridith with any business questions.

Eastern Iowa


Kayla Toale

e: Kayla@ChildrensCancerConnection.org
p: 515-243-6239 ext.1116
Kayla is responsible for all fundraising in Eastern Iowa, Kayla works with sponsors and volunteers to plan events to raise finds from programming in Eastern Iowa.